A spider on my face!!!

We have tons of large-ish (3-4″ long, including legs) garden spiders in our clumps of oaks & palmettos.  I’m as careful as I can be, but sometimes it’s difficult to see them, even when they’re right in front of me.  They remind me of those pictures where you have to focus your eyes differently to see the hidden image.

Anyway, I was sawing off dead branches from several of our small live oaks today, when a HUGE (to me!) spider jumped right onto my face.  It ran down my face, then down my neck, and it’s little legs felt so weird that I couldn’t tell if I was being bitten or was getting little electric shocks.  Turns out the correct answer was neither!  I guess I’m just not used to big spider legs on my skin.

Here is a photo of another of these garden spiders, one I saw in time so did not disturb.  This one was about the same size as the one who jumped on me, around 3-4 inches long:

Brrrr…

But it won’t deter us from cleaning up the yard; I will probably just take better care next time and wear a long-sleeved shirt.  And possibly a welding mask 🙂

Leave a Reply

